After School Revival

Treasure tables part something or other

These posts somehow got out of sequence when I pulled them over from Cohost but honestly it's not really important.

If you're tired of hearing about treasure tables from me I'm afraid that's just too bad. I'm determined to figure this out and part of figuring this out is working out what the logic of the various Basic treasure tables is, because there has to be some.

I've gone back to Holmes, the correct version of Basic. Here's the average treasure values for those tables.

TT Average Value (gp)
A 45320
B 7215
C 4525
D 9415
E 12835
F 36525
G 69325
H 209170
I 53400
J 0.27
K 1.05
L 3.5
M 5
N 17.5
O 200
P 1100
Q 2875
R 188600
S Only potions
T Only scrolls

I'm going to do what I did for RC, which is work out how these are distributed across hit dice. This should be easier because Holmes Basic has a smaller selection of monsters than RC, so I can make sure I get it right (and make sure I include individual treasure this time).

I have a theory about how these things are organised, which is that they're weighted so that level 1 passes relatively quickly and then you stick around levels 2 and 3 for a while where you're in less danger of dying and can really get to grips with the game, before you hit level 4 and graduate to Expert. We'll see if that's borne out by the maths once I've worked it all out.

#adungeongame