After School Revival

A method for random dungeon mapping

randun1

A quick test dungeon I drew this morning to try out a procedure I've come up with to make random dungeons a little more interesting.

I was trying to come up with a way to write random dungeon generation tables that emphasise the things I want in dungeons, namely chokepoints and loops. Rather than write a set of new tables I came up with a small procedure to lay on top of those tables.

2d6 Result
2 Dead end
3-5 False door, trapped
6-8 Roll 1dX, link to that room
9-11 Link to another floor
12 Dungeon exit

1dX is the die size you chose at the start of the exercise. Your job is to link that exit or passage to the room you roll in whatever way you see fit. The idea is that this creates additional passages through the dungeon, either creating little rat runs in the middle or long looping paths around the outside.

It's not perfect but I think it's got legs and I'm going to keep playing with it.