After School Revival

A Dungeon Game stat generation

I'm working on a character generator for A Dungeon Game (you can see the work in progress version here).

One thing I've noticed is that it generates results of 18 more often than I'd like. Because the game is d20 roll under, and because increasing attributes is a core part of the game, I want to keep initial attributes low. I probably need to actually revisit this in the text of the rules and come up with a different generation method other than 3d6 (probably 2d6+3). For the generator, though, what I'm instead doing is implementing some logic that reduces high rolls with the following criteria:

Don't ask me why I've done it this way, other than that it felt right.

I'm also only applying this logic to Agility and Brawn. Part of the reason for this is that I want to encourage players to learn Rituals. You can sacrifice any attribute to learn Rituals, and even though you can swap two attributes before doing this I've found that most players only choose to learn Rituals if their initial Cunning is high and that they often choose to sacrifice Cunning rather than another attribute even though this is the stat they'll use to actually cast Rituals. I figure that by allowing higher Cunning initially players might be more likely to choose to engage with Rituals. And if they instead choose to swap their 17 or 18 Cunning into Agility or Brawn, so be it.

This is something I might well change, especially as one of the Extras adds 1d3 to an attribute, so I might just cap them all at 15 to begin with, but for now I'm enjoying playing with it.

#adungeongame